Garden space secured, and the new preservation plan.

As I sit down today to write my weekly (Ok, my intention is weekly) post, I am thrilled to say that I have secured a garden spot for next year. I have so much on my plate right now, but I do want to spend some time to plan what will be on our plates for the following year.

Last years growing/preservation plan flopped horribly.  Onward and upward in 2014!!  I’ll be back in the weeks to come with some veggie profiles of things I’d like to preserve.

It’ll look something like this:

Image

Apples

Harvest time: Mid September (In Vermont)

Preservation plan: x quarts of unsweetened applesauce

Basic information about the apples used, and the properties of the apples once they are canned or frozen or whatever.

Hopefully it will help those of you who want to get started but have a little trepidation about that first step. 

While I have preservation on my mind, I want to share this product with you. I first saw it in a seed catalog (1 of 5 that have arrived in the mail since January 1st) It’s a water bath, steam canner combo.  This one is a good example, I’ve seen some that look different, and some with different price tags.  There are two issues here, one is space and the other is my complete and total fear of a pressure canner. We’re talking terrified. Somehow this pot looks less daunting… less scary, and maybe something I can manage.

What do you think? Have you used one? Do  you have a garden and preservation plan that you can share? Please leave your comments below.

2 comments on “Garden space secured, and the new preservation plan.

  1. nicolec says:

    Pressure canning is only scary the first time and it’s totally safe. No exploding canners, I promise. Check with your local extension office; they may have free classes. If not get the Ball Blue Book and follow the directions to can water to get the hang of it. I’d rather pressure can than BWB any day now; I find pressure canning so much easier!

    Since space is an issue, you can BWB in a pressure canner vessel. Just don’t put the cock on to build up pressure.

    Steam canning is not a safe method; the food doesn’t get hot enough inside the jars. (see http://nchfp.uga.edu/how/general/equp_methods_not_recommended.html)

  2. mariegray75 says:

    Thanks for commenting Nicole. I actually have the Bell book but I often just get too overwhelmed and only end up canning tomatoes, apples and jam. THanks for the URL, I guess I had read that steam wasn’t safe now that I am reading this.. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

